Alex from Tokyo

Name variation:
Style: Electronic, downtempo, deep house
Profile: Paris born, Tokyo raised NYC based international eclectic french DJ, producer and international co-ordinator.
In Groups:
Urls: Homepage discogs myspace Resident Advisor
Best of Ibadan Chart
01 Ferrer & Sydenham Inc. - Timbuktu (├éme Original Mix)  [IRC078DG]  
02 Ferrer & Sydenham Inc. - Sandcastles (Original 10" mix)  [TIB004]  
03 Kerri Chandler, Jerome Sydenham - Atmospheric Beats  (Original Extended Version)  [IRC024]  
04 Dennis Ferrer - Son of Raw (Original)  [IRC070]  
05 Tony Watson - Passages (Original)  [IRC025]  
06 The System - You're in My System (Atmospheric Vocal)  [IRC010]  
07 Ten City - My Peace of Heaven  (Demo Dub)  [IRC008]  
08 Ricky L - Nothing But (Ricky L Remix)  [IRC088]  
09 Mission Control - Outta Limits (Original)  [IRC075]  
10 Joe Claussell - Git Wa (Original)  [IRC023]  

Having lived in Tokyo more than 20 years since he was a kid, he has developed into one of the strongest crossover DJ's in Tokyo and also became a key person connecting the world and Japan (F Communications Japan representative, Mr.Bongo/Disorient Japan, Yellow Productions/Bossa Tres Jazz project co-ordinator etc.).

Now based in New York from 2004. Alex has been playing regularly all around the world in Japan, Asia, New York and Europe. Alex still travels back to Tokyo every 2 months to continue his 12 year residency at the Sunday afternoon party "Gallery", his Timewarp party at the newly open club eleven (where club Yellow used to be), and his weekly radio show "Tokyo Club Mix Showcase" every Wednesday on Shibuya FM78.4Mhz, now running for 12 years.

In NYC he regularly plays these days at Club Cielo and in downtown venues like Santos Party House, nublu and submercer.

Alex has been also active producing music under the name Tokyo Black Star with his partner Isao Kumano, releasing original material on the Berlin based label Innervisions, as well as on the joint label Reincarnation by italian tastemakers Slam Jam, and on DJ Deep's deeply rooted house music records label. Tokyo Black Star have done remixes for labels such as Flower Records, Yellow Productions, Frikyiwa, Bassmental, Disorient, with recent remixes as Kuniyuki "Birds" (mule musiq), nublu orchestra "Sketches of NY" (nublu), Bing Ji ling "Home" (Lovemonk), Master H and Greg Oreck "Coffee is ecstasy" (komplex de deep), Arno E Matthieu "Heritage" (clima records) and Filipson+Lindblad "Reflections" (mood music). Tokyo Black Star collaborated in summer 2008 on the german Great Stuff's label "Summer Games" Olympic compilation with the track "Japan".

Besides the club scene, Alex has been recently doing some music co-ordination, consulting and production work in fashion for brands like Y-3 and Louis Vuitton, and he has been invited to play at the official party of the world famous art fair ART BASEL in June 2007. September 2006 saw the Japanese release of Laurent Garnier's book "Electrochoc", which Alex translated from French to Japanese. Alex released in February 2008 his 5th mix CD in Japan for the DJ mix series "mi mix" on the Octave Lab label in Japan. In February 2009, Reincarnation released the official label mix CD "Dj Alex from Tokyo presents "Reincarnation" -The Flashback mix-".

Tokyo Black Star released in April 2009 their first long-awaited Tokyo Black Star debut album "Black Ships" on Innervisions, and they toured live and DJ in the Fall 2009 in Europe and in Asia. Their latest single "Caballero" on Innervisions featured an amazing Radio Slave remix. Tokyo Black Star has just remixed Wagon Cookin' new single "Come into the light" (om records) and Mezza Luna vs Felix Cage new EP "Blizzard" (electronical reeds) both coming out in January 2011 and is releasing a new EP "Sotto marino" for Reincarnation in February 2011.

Alex started also in Spring 2010 in Japan with Isao Kumano and 3 top professional japanese audiophiles a new "revolutionary" audio brand called phonon (, representating the brand outside Japan.

You can check this special interview+radio show Tokyo Black Star did for the Carharrt music blog for December 2010.

Latest tracks
None present at the time!
None present at the time!
© Ibadan Records. All rights reserved. All content is subject to our TERMS OF SERVICE.